DWI/DUI

DWI/DUI Lawyer serving Navarro & Ellis Counties

Working to Protect Your License & Your Reputation

Although DUI/DWI laws are sometimes referred to as “drunk driving,” this is not entirely accurate. You don’t have to be intoxicated to be arrested. All that is required is a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher and impairment to any extent.

If you need a DUI/DWI attorney in Navarro, Ellis or Dallas County, The Law Office of Michael J. Crawford is prepared to fight on your behalf. We have helped many who faced criminal charges to obtain a favorable outcome for their situation, and we are prepared to fight for you.


Please call 903-875-8500 or 214-428-6844 or contact us online to get the legal advice you need.


DUI & DWI Law in Texas

There are far-reaching implications to a DUI/DWI arrest. You must act quickly if you want to preserve your driving privileges. You only have 15 days to appeal a driver’s license suspension and the administrative license revocation hearing must occur within 40 days of your arrest. In addition to losing your driving privileges, you could be facing other penalties.

The consequences for conviction are influenced by:

  • Your age
  • Blood alcohol content (BAC)
  • Any prior DUI/DWI arrests
  • Whether your actions resulted in injury or death

Can a DWI be Dismissed in Navarro & Ellis Counties in Texas?

So, if you do not agree to enter a guilty plea and, instead, elect to fight your DWI charges, you may have an almost 45 percent chance of having your charges reduced or dismissed. If you can not get your DWI dismissed, you can instead get your charges reduced to a lower sentence.

  • Board Certified
  • Super Lawyers 2022
  • Rising Star Super Lawyer 2020
  • Super Lawyers 2021
  • Avvo - 10.0
  • Avvo Client's Choice
  • AVVO Top Contributor
  • American Institute of DUI Attorneys
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association
  • Best of Reader's Choice Awards
  • NTL Top 100
  • SuperLawyers 2020

How Much is a DWI Ticket in Texas?

 

In Texas, a DWI ticket can range anywhere between $2,000 - $10,000 fine depending if you have had previous DWI offenses.

Difference Between DUI and DWI in Texas

In Texas, a DUI is charged under the Texas traffic code, while a DWI is charged under the Texas penal code. A DUI, can be charged when any amount of alcohol is present in a driver's system. A DWI is charged when a driver has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .08 or greater or is driving under the influence of drugs.

Drivers under the age of 21 with any alcohol in their system may be facing DUI (driving under the influence) charges. If you are underage, have several DUI convictions, had a BAC of .15 or higher, or your DUI/DWI charge resulted from an accident, it is especially important that you contact a lawyer immediately.

What to Do After an Arrest

After an arrest, secure qualified legal counsel immediately. Our DUI/DWI lawyer serving Navarro, Ellis or Dallas counties may be able to help you stay out of jail, preserve or restore your driving privileges, and work to reduce or eliminate fines and prevent conviction.

In addition, we can help with contingent license programs that allow you to drive to and from your job.


When you are ready to discuss your case, please contact us at 903-875-8500 or 214-428-6844 for a consultation.


Contact The Law Office of Michael J. Crawford Today!

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.