Contact us NOW if you need a bond in Navarro County

Underage DWI

Corsicana Underage DWI Attorney

Protecting the Future of Young Drivers in Corsicana & Navarro County

Texas has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21 who are charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you are under the age of 21 and have any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, you can be charged with an underage DWI under the state's zero-tolerance law.

A conviction for underage DWI can have a serious impact on your future. In addition to criminal penalties, you will also have a criminal record that can follow you for the rest of your life. If you have been charged with underage DWI, it is important to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney to understand your legal rights and options.

At The Law Office of Michael J. Crawford, PLLC, we are committed to helping young drivers in Corsicana and the surrounding areas who have been charged with underage DWI. We know what is at stake and will fight to protect your future.

Call our firm today at (214) 903-7722 or online to schedule a free consultation with our underage DWI lawyer in Corsicana. We look forward to serving you.

What Is the Underage DWI Law in Texas?

Under Texas law, a person under the age of 21 commits an offense if they have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system while operating a motor vehicle in a public place. An underage DWI is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500 and mandatory community service.

Additionally, the person's driver's license will be suspended for 60 days for a first offense. For a second or subsequent offense, the driver's license will be suspended for 120 days. If the person refuses to submit to a blood or breath test, the driver's license will be suspended for 180 days.

Will I Have a Criminal Record for an Underage DWI?

Yes, an underage DWI conviction will result in a criminal record. This means that the conviction will appear on your background checks and can be seen by potential employers, landlords, and others. Having a criminal record can make it difficult to get a job, find housing, secure a loan, and more.

However, if you are able to keep your record clean for a certain period of time, you may be eligible for an expunction or non-disclosure order. An expunction is the complete removal of your criminal record, while a non-disclosure order will seal your record from public view. Our underage DWI attorney in Corsicana can help you determine if you are eligible for either of these options.

Can You Go to Jail for an Underage DWI in Texas?

While jail time is not a direct penalty for a first-time underage DWI, it is possible if you are a repeat offender. If you have been previously convicted of underage DWI, a second offense is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by 3 to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, and a driver's license suspension of up to 1 year. A third or subsequent offense is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by 30 days to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, and a driver's license suspension of up to 2 years.

Additionally, if you are arrested for underage DWI but have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you can also be charged with standard DWI. A first-time DWI is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by 72 hours to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, and a driver's license suspension of up to 1 year.

How Long Does an Underage DWI Stay on Your Record in Texas?

An underage DWI conviction will remain on your criminal record indefinitely unless you are able to get it expunged or sealed through a non-disclosure order. For a first-time underage DWI offense, you may be eligible for a non-disclosure order if you have successfully completed any court-ordered community service and have not been convicted of any other offenses for at least 180 days. If you are convicted of a second or subsequent offense, you will not be eligible for a non-disclosure order.

Defending Against Underage DWI Charges in Texas

At The Law Office of Michael J. Crawford, PLLC, we know that an underage DWI conviction can have serious consequences. Our Corsicana underage DWI lawyer is prepared to fight for you. When you retain our firm, we will conduct a thorough investigation into your case, review all available evidence, and craft a strong defense strategy on your behalf.

Our firm can help you fight your underage DWI charges by proving:

  • You were not operating the vehicle
  • You were not in a public place
  • The traffic stop was illegal
  • The breathalyzer results were inaccurate
  • You were not under the influence of alcohol

Remember, you are innocent until proven guilty, and the prosecution has the burden of proving your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. Our underage DWI attorney in Corsicana will challenge the evidence against you and fight aggressively for a favorable outcome.

Get the Aggressive Defense You Deserve

If you or your child has been charged with underage DWI, it is important to get legal help as soon as possible. Our firm can provide the strong defense you need to fight the charges and protect your future.

Call (214) 903-7722 to speak to our underage DWI lawyer in Corsicana today. We offer free initial consultations.

  • Board Certified
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers 2024
  • Super Lawyers 2023
  • Super Lawyers 2022
  • Super Lawyers 2021
  • Rising Star Super Lawyer 2020
  • Avvo - 10.0
  • Avvo Client's Choice
  • AVVO Top Contributor
  • American Institute of DUI Attorneys
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association
  • Best of Reader's Choice Awards
  • NTL Top 100
  • SuperLawyers 2020

Contact The Law Office of Michael J. Crawford Today!

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.